Follow BritHereNow on Twitter

Recent Posts

The Bertrand Russell Show

Feminist Philosophers

fragments of consciousness

Gender, Race and Philosophy: The Blog


Leiter Reports: A Philosophy Blog

Long Words Bother Me

semantics etc. highlights

Thoughts Arguments and Rants



Monday, May 19, 2008

34th annual meeting of the Society for Philosophy and Psychology

June 26-29, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
Registration is now open; deadline Thursday, June 5 -- 12:00pm EST


George Ainslie, Michael L. Anderson, Louise Antony
Peter Carruthers, Louis Charland, Anjan Chatterjee
David Danks, Felipe De Brigard, Michael Devitt
Marthah Farah, Evelina Fedorenko, Owen Flanagan,
Jerry Fodor, Kenneth R. Foster, Lila R. Gleitman (President of SPP)
George Graham, Bryce Huebner, Bertram F. Malle,
Barbara Malt, Christopher Meacham, Dominic P. Murphy
Thomas Nadelhoffer, Kenneth Norman, Mike Oaksford
Erik Parens, Nancy Petry, Jeffrey Poland
Zenon Pylyshyn, Sarah Robins, Paul Rozin,
Laurie R. Santos (the 2008 Stanton Prize winner)
Michael Strevens, Justin Sytsma, Kelly Trogdon
Charles Wallis, Deena Weisberg, Daniel Weiskopf
Fei Xu, and Carlos Zednik, among many others.

This year's conference will be preceded June 25-26 by a workshop on experimental philosophy.

For more information click here.

Wednesday, May 07, 2008

Midwest Epistemology Workshop

The second annual Midwest Epistemology Workshop will be held October 17-18, 2008 on the campus of the University of Nebraska in Lincoln, Nebraska.

The workshop will consist of seven nonconcurrent sessions, each involving a presentation of 45 minutes followed by 45 minutes of discussion, and a longer keynote address. Tyler Burge (UCLA) will give the keynote address.

Speakers: Mike Bergmann (Purdue), Brit Brogaard (ANU/Missouri-St. Louis), Juan Comesana (Wisconsin), Andy Egan (Michigan), Adam Leite (Indiana), Peter Markie (Missouri), and Jonathan Weinberg (Indiana).

More detailed information about the program, accommodations, and travel is available at the conference website.

Tuesday, May 06, 2008

EPISTEME Sixth Annual Conference

EPISTEME will hold its sixth annual conference at Northwestern University on June 26-27, 2009. The 2009 meeting will focus on the epistemological significance of disagreement.

Confirmed participants include: Michael Bergmann (Purdue), Stewart Cohen (Arizona State), Sherrilyn Roush (Berkeley) and Roger White(MIT).

SUBMISSION GUIDELINES: Papers should be no more than 5,000 words, excluding notes and references, and should be prepared for blind review. Electronic submissions should be sent to David.Christensen(at) by January 15, 2009. Approximately four papers will be selected from the submissions for presentation at the conference. The selected papers will also be published, along with the papers of the confirmed participants above, in a special issue of EPISTEME, with David Christensen as the Guest Editor.

Conference organizers: Alvin Goldman (Rutgers), Jennifer Lackey (Northwestern) and David Christensen (Brown).

Monday, May 05, 2008

The Reasoner 2(5)

The latest issue of The Reasoner is now available for download in pdf format.